The Future

25 Jul

Obviously, I haven’t blogged in a long time.

I need to figure out what the future of this blog will be. I have several conflicting emotions:

  • I don’t feel as much of a need to blog, because Facebook has become a place for me to share funny anecdotes about my kids or to pop off with my opinion on the issue of the day.
  • I really miss pseudonymous blogging, because there are things I really want to write about that I can’t write under my own name. For example, there are particular parenting challenges I would love to write about, but now that M is ten years old (TEN YEARS OLD! How did that happen?!), I have to respect her privacy. I don’t want to make her vulnerable to teasing or ridicule.
  • There are personal topics that I would love to write about at length–writing that can be shared publicly, but that isn’t academic. This blog would be a good venue for that type of reflection.

That’s what I’ve been thinking about lately. I think I am going to try to pursue option three over the next several weeks.

***

Most of you already know this from Facebook, but I was tenured and promoted to Associate Professor this spring. I am so very happy to have reached this stage in my career. It is sometimes hard to believe that I am the same person some of you first met–the new mom struggling to write her dissertation. I’ve come a long way since then.

This summer has been great. I was awarded a summer research grant, and it’s been wonderful to focus on research without having to worry about grading papers. The manuscript for Re-Reading Appalachia is in review at the University Press of Kentucky–my co-editor and I sent the manuscript to the press in June, and it’s now out for external review.

Fall is approaching much too quickly. I don’t even want to think about M and P going back to school in a month. I start a month from tomorrow. I love my job, but I’m not really looking forward to the craziness of the academic year–trying to get everybody out of the house in the morning, all the driving, supervising homework, keeping up with my own grading, etc.

And on that note, it’s time for me to head to the kids’ school and drop off their immunization records. Afterwards, P and I are going to the library (M is at day camp).

2 Responses to “The Future”

  1. Dr. Mon July 26, 2013 at 3:58 pm #

    Best wishes on your process. I’m writing again but haven’t published it yet lol!

  2. Sara July 29, 2013 at 4:07 pm #

    Let me know when you do! You’ll get it out there. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

